Meet The Governors

Meet The Governors

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the Headteacher/School Leader, Deputy Headteacher and/or Assistant Head Teacher. It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the head teacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

Each individual governor is a member of the governing body, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing body. Decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing body.

The role of the governing body is a strategic one; its key functions are to:

  • Set the aims and objectives for the school
  • Set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • Monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • Be a source of challenge and support to the Headteacher/School Leader (a critical friend)

Corpus Christi’s Governors are:


 Roles and Responsibilities

Business Interests

Member of other Governing Body

Relationship with member of staff


Neil Galbraith (Chair)

Foundation Governor (Term of office 21-11-2018 to 20-11-2022), Chair of Governors, SEN/Looked After Child Governor

No No No

Tom Blair (Vice Chair)

Foundation Governor (Term of office 01.10.2019 to 30.09.2023) Vice Chair of Governors, Health and Safety Governor, Gifted and Talented Governor.

 No No No 

Brenda Schouller

Executive Head Teacher Governor

 No Executive Head Teacher Governor at St Paul's Catholic Primary School, Portsmouth.  No

Jane Haywood

Staff Governor (Term of office 01.09.19 to 31-08-2023) Governor Induction

No Yes No

Matthew Simpson

Parent Governor (Term of office 17.01.2017 to 16.01.2021) SEN Governor
 No  No  No

 Natasha Burnett

Foundation Governor (Term of office 17.01.2017 to 16.01.2021) Safeguarding and Pupil Premium Governor

 No  No  No

Fr Claro Conde

Foundation Governor (Term of office 09.10.2017 to 09.10.2021)

 No No No 

Catherine Hill

Clerk to Governors

 No No  No 

Mary Brier

Foundation Governor (Term of Office 22/05/2018 to 21/05/2022) Early Years Governor

 No No  No 

Graziella Drago

Foundation Governor (Term of Office 13/12/2018 to 12/12/2022)

 No No  No 



Associate Governors: Gemma Comerford, Leeanna Cain

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Portsmouth Catholic Diocese

Our associate governors may attend meetings and committees as and when necessary; however, they have no voting rights.  All other governors have voting rights on their committees as listed above.

Should you wish to make a formal complaint, please follow this link: Complaints Policy.

Pecuniary Interest Register

2019 - 2020

2018 - 2019

2017 - 2018

2016 - 2017